new music friday

Artist Promotion

Blu Spirit- Waves

1 Comment

Blu Spirit from Syracuse, New York drops his project “Waves” and we are here to dissect it. He draws inspiration from artists such as Nas, JCole and Big L. You can hear the project on SoundCloud and Spotify by following these links:

Let’s get right into a track by track including some visuals for some of the tracks.

  1. Waves: The visuals are not complete so we won’t touch base on those as it’s a way to get the music on another platform. This is the intro track so it’s short and to the point and has some waves crashing in the background.

2. Look at Me Now: I think Blu Spirit is talented and the lyrics to this song are great. Talks about making it and how people aren’t the most supportive which just adds to the grind. He adds a few pop culture references throughout.

3. Love & Money: This video and song are what made us want to feature Blu Spirit on the site. The video is fun and carefree even thought the subject matter is gritty. The chorus is so hype and this song is single/radio material without a doubt. I want some cotton candy now though.

Love & money – Video

4. Everyday: This song Blu spits on the faster side at first. My only critique is that I feel that the levels were a bit off. I felt like the beat overpowered his delivery a bit. Lyrics and delivery were perfect. Blu Spirit is working everyday and we can tell.

5. Pistola: “Death is all around us, tryna stay away from coffins.” That says it all, Blu Spirit is just trying to stay alive in these streets. We always have to stay vigilant. Bullets don’t have names on them when they’re around.

6. On My Waist: The organs were an interesting touch to the beat. Blu Spirit dis his thing lyrically on this song once again. The focus is on having a strap at all times and not trying to catch a case while on the road to getting this money.

7. Do or Die: everyday is do or die. It’s all about the grind and making sure mom is good. A few big industry names are mentioned and i smirk at the references. Let me know what you think of them. K Don comes in at the end and adds a little extra grit to the track. I fuck with this song heavy.

8. Homicide: Interesting, you can tell Blu Spirit doesn’t come from the best of environments and almost caught the homi at 15 according to the song. Art imitates life and vice versa, so what actually happened is up for debate. Either way Blu is ready to kill anybody that gets in his way.

9. Rambo: These visuals are not as fun and carefree as Love and Money. This is that hood anthem track that everyone can relate to. This track and video are a vibe and something many can relate to. You have to be strong to make it out the situation you dealing with.

Rambo video –

10. Fade-Away: The final track off the project is perfectly crafted. Blu wants to make it another day which is not always promised. He just wants to make it out the projects and that ain’t easy. You have to be grateful for every moment you get in this life even if the situation fucking sucks.

Final Thoughts

We are rooting for Blu Spirit. He puts his pain and experience in his music and it comes across exceptionally well. We hope to see a lot more from him in the future. He has the lyrics, delivery, visuals and the looks. Let’s continue to support him so he doesn’t fade away.

Want More?

If you are feeling the Waves, check out more from Blu Spirit by following him on Instagram & Twitter @blu_spirit_ and check out his music by following these links

If you have a project or song that you want to be featured on one of the bets hip hop blog sites out send an email to or head over to our contact page.

Artist Promotion

LIL Guillotine You Only Get one

No Comments

Lil Guillotine, who has been making hip hop music for nearly two years, has over ten years of experience doing anti-capitalist organizing. “You Only Get One” is yet another tactic in his goal of effecting positive social change via movement building. He has also helped start a tenant union, co-founded a bail fund, helped stop the building of a new jail in Madison, WI, helped organize incarcerated workers and stays politically engaged in the life pulse of the community.    His new song against the system, “You Only Get One,” was written leading up to the September 20 Climate strike as music for the movement. Take a listen to it here. 

Our Thoughts on the Song

The song is on the shorter side at only a minute and 40 seconds. The beat has a great start to it. I had a hard time understanding the first couple of lines. But once I was able to understand the other lyrics I got the message. It was short and sweet and to the point for sure. As much as I support the message I feel like something was missing even after jamming to it for a week. What did you guys think of the song? Am I wrong in thinking it was missing a little something? Let us know in the comments below.

Want More?

Listen to more of Lil Guillotine and learn more about his efforts by following one of these links.


/ Facebook

/ Twitter

/ Instagram

If you have new hip hop music you want to share with the world head over to my contact page or send us a submission to

Artist Promotion

Landon Wordswell ft Def-i (Prod. The Don Avelar) “Bruté”

No Comments

Fresh off a short run with the Legendary Hieroglyphics crew, Landon Wordswell is releasing a new single from his forthcoming album, New Flexico. The Santa Fe, NM resident is also in the midst of preparing for his national tour alongside Elzhi & Skyzoo and will present his new EP on the road. Landon’s first cut from the EP features the New Mexico favorite as well as one of the Sway in the Morning favorites, Def-i. This track along with the rest of the EP is produced fully by The Don Avelar.  


Our Thoughts on the Project

I like how the beat starts on this track. Both artists spit straight fire on this track. The production of the song is top tier. The chorus is catchy and has the semblance of the story of Brute and Julius Caesar. If you remember the old tale, Brute was Caesar’s right hand until he betrayed him. The song is not only about the old tale but has it’s own twist and gives us a look into Landon’s story.

Want More?

If you want to stay up to date on Landon’s music and other projects, following one of these links:

If you have a project you want featured on the top hip hop blog send us a submission at or visit our contact page. Get your submissions in before the end of 2019 to secure your spot.

Artist Promotion

Erb Dean Near Sighted

1 Comment

I feel like I have been waiting an eternity for Chicago Rapper Erb Dean to drop a song that I can finally share with you!!! I’ve been privy to his work for years now and am over the moon that he is finally released music to the public.

Let’s get right into the track. It starts with a piano flow and then Erb goes right into with his deep and gritty rap. The rough and real track describes his life and the streets. He adds metaphors and rhetoric throughout the song to catch you. It is beautifully done. The streets are can be a dark place that not everyone is susceptible. We can get a sneak peak into that life and what comes with it. A standout line for me is “I feel like I’m a one-man team.” That’s the realist shit ever because that is the case for so many of us.

Take a listen above and follow him on Instagram and catch his music here: